ToyAward Winners 2022

Category Baby & Infant

No products were nominated for the ToyAward 2022 in the Baby & Infant category.

PreSchool (3-6 years)

  • Winner
  • Nominee 1
  • Nominee 2

Emergency Doctor’s Backpack

Legler OHG small foot company

Legler’s Emergency Doctor’s Backpack is a very authentic, modern interpretation of the classic doctor’s kit for kids. The quality backpack holds everything from a dressing and a stethoscope to a blood pressure gauge and even a miniature defibrillator. Teddy had an accident? Help is here! The little aspiring doctors will find everything they need to playfully simulate an emergency first response. Next to its contemporary execution, the jury positively noted the pleasant feel of the utensils which have largely been made from soft wood.

SchoolKids (6-10 years)

  • Winner
  • Nominee 1
  • Nominee 2

Fabulus Elexus

Hutter Trade GmbH & Co. KG & DUJARDIN

Hutter Trade GmbH & Co. KG & DUJARDIN magically encases the mysteries of chemistry in its Fabulus Elexus science set. The Magical Book of Elixirs shows young magicians how to create potions called, for example, Eternal Poison, Fart of a Fairy or Poisoned Lava Beads. The names of the tinctures required to create the potions have equally illustrious names like Snail Slime and Elves Blood. Before you start, all vials are labelled and named. That is how children learn about the composition and effect of the ingredients. Protective goggles are a must before creating a first magic potion with the stylised cauldrons! The jury especially praised the game’s great fun factor and enthusiastic approach to a topic such as chemistry.

Teenager & Adults (10+ years)

  • Winner
  • Nominee 1
  • Nominee 2

echoes – Audio Mystery

Ravensburger Verlag GmbH

Why does the ghost of a Dancer haunt a Scottish country manor? And what dreadful secret does the Microchip carry? Mysterious cases like these are to be solved in the echoes mystery game from Ravensburger. A brief story plus illustrated cards as well as audio sequences offer clues – because echoes is a real audio mystery! The cards are scanned with the help of an app to trigger an audio clue. Players slip into the role of an investigator and try to solve how and in which order they each need to lay out three cards to recreate the sequence of events. The jury praised the contemporary audio game which is a perfect match for today’s podcast era. The acoustic clues also build concentration.

Startup

  • Winner
  • Nominee 1
  • Nominee 2

Piks

OPPI®

OPPI® has rethought the world of building blocks and playroom builders: Piks is a set made from wooden elements and small cone-shaped blocks of non-toxic silicone. The colour of the cone dictates its height. The different height of the cones makes building a challenge as the rounded tips shift the balance. Whether pursuing a personal creation or following the instructions from one of the many creative cards: Piks trains a child’s fine motor skills and builds concentration all in one. The creative cards show how to create a snail, giraffe or Mount Everest and are colour-coded to mark the degree of difficulty. The jury was especially won over by the considerable learning experience the game offers in terms of shapes and concentration.

Sustainability

  • Winner
  • Nominee 1
  • Nominee 2

Animal Friends

fischertechnik GmbH

With Animal Friends, fischertechnik launches a construction set made from sustainable materials using 60% renewable raw materials. The set lets children build different animals, like Sandy the scorpion, Henry the horse or Larry the lizard, which are extremely robust yet flexible. The chosen animals aim to emphasise a closeness to nature. The abstract, bright colours of the designs are a striking feature. The jury specifically highlighted that a renowned brand manufacturer is moving towards sustainability, thus sending an important sign to the industry.

Jurors 2022

Sue Warfield

American Speciality Toy Retailing Association (ASTRA), President

Sue Warfield has been in the both the Retail and Toy Business for over 30 years. She had been an American Specialty Toy Retailing Association (ASTRA) Member since 2001 having had her own sales representative group as well as a retail store. She served for 7 years on the ASTRA Board of Directors including as chair of the board. In 2014 she joined the ASTRA staff as Membership Director. In 2020, she took on the position of President.

Axel Dammler

iconkids & youth, Managing Director

Axel Dammler is Managing Director of iconkids & youth international research GmbH in Munich, Germany’s largest research institute specialised in kids and youth research. He has been working with young target groups since 1992 and has carried out numerous studies in national and international consumer and media markets.

Andrew Dobbie

Gameplan Europe Ltd., Managing Director

As founder of the British consulting company Gameplan Europe, Andrew Dobbie advises and publishes throughout the world on the consumer behaviour of children and products and markets for children and young people. As former European Marketing Director of Mattel Toys Inc, Andrew Dobbie has an extensive knowledge and many years of experience in the international toy industry.

Konstantin Frishberg

Detsky Mir, Director Toys and Games Department

Since the beginning of 2016, Konstantin Frishberg is the Director of the Toys and Games Department at Detsky Mir. Detsky Mir is the biggest children’s goods retailer in Eastern Europe with more than 600 stores in Russia and Kazakhstan

Thorsten Paedelt

duo schreib & spiel GmbH & Co.KG, Managing Director

Thorsten Paedelt works for duo schreib & spiel since 2001 and became Managing Director for Marketing and Sales in 2002. The retail trade co-operation from Berlin covers 460 toy shops in Germany and Austria. The range extends from stationery and toys to products from the creative and lifestyle segments.

Jörg Meister

little big things GmbH, Managing director

Jörg Meister studied product design at the FH Coburg. In 2010, after working for five years as an industrial designer for a globally operating company for baby hardware and toys, he joined forces with Eva Stemmer to set up the service agency for product design, consulting and PR with a focus on children’s products.

Dean Smith

jaZams, Co-owner

Dean Smith is the co-owner of jaZams, a toy and book shop. jaZams has been in business for 22 years and is in the list of the 25 best toy shops in the US. Before joining the jaZams team, Dean Smith was an organic farmer.

Andreas Schäfer

idee+spiel GmbH, Managing Director

Since October 2011, Andreas Schäfer is the managing director at idee+spiel, one of the most successful toy trade co-operations for leisure, hobbies and games. Mr. Schäfer is a trained retail salesman. After working for an EDP-equipment store he got into the toy industry in 1990, where he gained experience over the last 20 years in Germany and abroad.

Jean Youn

Head of Toy Business, KAKAOKIDS

In the past three years, Dae-jin Youn(Jean) has been working at one of South Korea’s most widespread and established conglomerates: Kakao. He has been working for Kakao’s educational platform for kids, also known as Kakaokids, and is a developer for toys made for a diverse range of ages. Jean is an avid member of the National Competency Standard Commissioners (NCS) in the toy industry, and gained working experience in the toy and hobby industry for over ten years. Additionally, he is a columnist for Toy Magazine in South Korea.

Rainer Weiskirchen

TÜV Rheinland, Press Officer

Since 1993, Rainer Weiskirchen works as a spokesperson for TÜV Rheinland, a state-approved independent trade agency that also checks the quality and safety standards of toys. The TÜV Rheinland tests and certifies products according to the German and/or European Consumer Product Safety Act. Their “tested safety” certification mark (GS) guarantees a high quality of products.

Thomas Wodzicki

Freelance play educator for various institutions at home and abroad

Thomas Wodzicki is an educationalist specialized in games. He also works as a teacher of adult education and project developer for the German Federal Association Spielmobile e.V. Spielmobile is a Germany-wide network of working groups and the proper authority for the gap year, usually taken to do voluntary work in the social sector in Bavaria. n mark (GS) guarantees a high quality of products.

Tracy Wood

Toybuzz, Managing director

Tracy Wood is a mother of two children from the UK, who used her experiences of toy buying for her children and turned it into a successful toy and game review website, which was voted the best toy blog in the UK in 2014. Gaining a working knowledge of toy trends, and working with brands and retailers along the way, she has been running the website Toybuzz for over 10 years.

Dr. Harald Käb

Owner of naracon Innovationsberatung

Chemist Dr Harald Käb has been advising companies and institutions on sustainable chemicals and plastics for over 25 years. His focus is on go-to-market strategies for bio-based plastics and products made from them.

to top

Kategorie Baby & Infant

In der Kategorie Baby & Infant wurden keine Produkte für den ToyAward 2022 nominiert.

PreSchool (3-6 Jahre)

  • Gewinner
  • Nominierter 1
  • Nominierter 2

Emergency Doctor‘s Backpack

Legler OHG small foot company

Der Emergency Doctor’s Backpack von Legler ist die sehr gelungene moderne Interpretation des Spielzeug-Klassikers Arztkoffer. Verpackt in einem hochwertigen Rucksack befinden sich neben Verbandmaterial und Stethoskop auch ein Blutdruckmessgerät und sogar ein Mini-Defibrillator. Der Plüschteddy ist verunglückt? Kein Problem für die kleinen Ärzte in spe, sie finden im Rucksack alles Nötige, um die mobile Notfallversorgung zu simulieren. Neben der zeitgemäßen Ausarbeitung begeisterte die Jury der angenehme Griff der Utensilien, die größtenteils aus weichem Holz gefertigt sind.

SchoolKids (6-10 Jahre)

  • Gewinner
  • Nominierter 1
  • Nominierter 2

Fabulus Elexus

Hutter Trade GmbH & Co. KG & DUJARDIN

Zauberhaft verpackt Hutter Trade GmbH & Co. KG & DUJARDIN die Geheimnisse der Chemie in dem Baukasten Fabulus Elexus. Im Zauberbuch der Elixiere finden Jung-Zauberer die Anleitung für Elixiere wie Ewiges Gift, Elfenfurz oder Vergiftete Lavaperlen. Auch die dafür notwendigen Tinkturen haben so illustre Namen wie Schneckenschleim und Elfenblut. Bevor es aber losgeht, werden alle Fläschchen beschriftet. So erlernen die Kinder Zusammensetzung und Wirkung der Zutaten. Schnell die Schutzbrille aufgesetzt und schon entsteht in den stilisierten Kesseln der erste Zaubertrunk! Den hohen Spaßcharakter und die emotionale Aufladung des Themas Chemie lobte die Jury besonders.

Teenager & Adults (ab 10 Jahre)

  • Gewinner
  • Nominierter 1
  • Nominierter 2

echoes – Das Audio Mystery Spiel

Ravensburger Verlag GmbH

Warum spukt der Geist einer Tänzerin im schottischen Landhaus? Welch schreckliches Geheimnis birgt der Mikrochip? Mysteriöse Fälle gilt es mit den echoes von Ravensburger zu lösen. Hinweise bieten eine kurze Geschichte, einige Bildkarten sowie Audio-Sequenzen – denn echoes ist ein Audio Mystery Spiel! Per App werden die Karten gescannt und ein Audio-Clou wird abgespielt. Nun rätseln die Spieler, wie und in welcher Reihenfolge sie je drei Karten kombinieren müssen, um den Tathergang zu rekonstruieren. Die Jury lobte das Zeitgemäße des Audio-Spiels, das perfekt in die Podcast-Ära passt. Zudem wird durch die akustischen Hinweise die Konzentration geschult.

Startup

  • Gewinner
  • Nominierter 1
  • Nominierter 2

Piks

OPPI®

Neu gedacht hat OPPI® die Welt der Bauklötze und Kinderzimmer-Konstrukteure: Piks ist ein Set aus Holzelementen und kegelförmigen „Klötzchen“ aus weichem Gummi. Je nach Farbe sind die Kegel unterschiedlich hoch und die unregelmäßige Form erschwert das Bauen, denn die abgerundete Spitze verlangt Balance. Ob eigene Konstruktion oder Nachbauen lustiger Vorlagen: Piks trainiert Motorik und Konzentration gleichermaßen. Fantasievoll und fröhlich sind die Anleitungen für eine Schnecke, Giraffe oder den Mount Everest, jeweils farbcodiert nach Schwierigkeitsgrad. Besonders überzeugt hat die Jury die große Lernerfahrung für Formen und Konzentration.

Sustainability

  • Gewinner
  • Nominierter 1
  • Nominierter 2

Animal Friends

fischertechnik GmbH

Mit den Animal Friends stellt fischertechnik einen Konstruktionsbaukasten aus nachhaltigem, zu 60% aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen bestehendem Material vor. Mit dem Set lassen sich verschiedene Tiere nachbauen, etwa Skorpion Sandy, Pferd Henry oder Echse Larry, die äußerst stabil und beweglich sind. Die Wahl von Motiven aus der Tierwelt soll die Nähe zur Natur unterstreichen. Auffallend sind die abstrakten, strahlenden Farben der Modelle. Die Jury hob besonders hervor, dass hier ein bekannter Markenhersteller in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit geht und damit ein wichtiges Signal an die Branche sendet.

Jury 2022

Sue Warfield

American Speciality Toy Retailing Association (ASTRA), Präsidentin

Sue Warfield ist seit über 30 Jahren im Einzelhandel und im Spielzeugsektor tätig. Sie gehört dem amerikanischen Verband der Spielzeugfacheinzelhändler (ASTRA) seit 2001 an. Im Lauf ihrer Karriere betreute sie ein Team von Vertriebsmitarbeitern und war Inhaberin eines eigenen Ladengeschäfts. Sieben Jahre lang war sie Mitglied des Vorstands des ASTRA, u.a. als Vorstandsvorsitzende. 2014 begann sie dann als Leiterin des Mitgliederressorts fest beim ASTRA zu arbeiten. Seit 2020 ist sie dort Verbandspräsidentin.

Axel Dammler

iconkids & youth, Geschäftsführer

Axel Dammler ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von iconkids & youth, dem größten deutschen Spezialinstitut für Kinder- und Jugendforschung. Er arbeitet seit 1992 mit jungen Zielgruppen und hat seitdem zahlreiche Studien zu nationalen und internationalen Medien- und Konsumgütermärkten durchgeführt.

Andrew Dobbie

Gameplan Europe Ltd., Managing Director

Andrew Dobbie, Gründer des britischen Consulting-Unternehmens Gameplan Europe, berät und publiziert weltweit zum Konsumentenverhalten von Kindern sowie zu Produkten und Märkten für Kinder und Jugendliche. Als ehemaliger European Marketing Director von Mattel Toys Inc. verfügt Andew Dobbie über weitreichende Kenntnisse und langjährige Erfahrung in der internationalen Spielwarenbranche.

Konstantin Frishberg

Detsky Mir, Direktor Spielwaren

Seit Anfang 2016 ist Konstantin Frishberg der Direktor für Spielwaren bei Detsky Mir. Detsky Mir ist die führende Einzelhandelskette für Kinderspielzeug in Osteuropa und ist in Russland sowie Kasachstan mit insgesamt über 600 Filialen vertreten.

Thorsten Paedelt

duo schreib & spiel GmbH & Co.KG, Geschäftsführer

Thorsten Paedelt ist seit 2001 für duo schreib & spiel aktiv und seit 2002 verantwortlich als Geschäftsführer Marketing & Vertrieb. Die Berliner Kooperation vereint über 460 Fachgeschäfte in Deutschland und Österreich. Das Sortiment umfasst Schreibwaren, Spielwaren, Kreativ und Lifestyle.

Jörg Meister

little big things GmbH, Geschäftsführer

Jörg Meister studierte Produktdesign an der FH Coburg. Nach fünf Jahren als Industriedesigner bei einem weltweit agierenden Unternehmen von Babyhartware und Spielware gründete er 2010 zusammen mit Eva Stemmer die Dienstleistungsagentur für Produktdesign, Consulting und PR mit Fokus auf Kinderprodukte.

Dean Smith

jaZams, Mitinhaber

Dean Smith ist der Miteigentümer von jaZams, einem Geschäft für Spielwaren und Bücher. jaZams besteht seit 22 Jahren und ist in der Liste der 25 besten Spielwarengeschäfte in den USA. Bevor Dean Smith dem jaZams Team beitrat, war er ein organischer Farmer.

Andreas Schäfer

idee+spiel GmbH, Geschäftsführer

Andreas Schäfer ist seit Oktober 2011 Geschäftsführer der idee+spiel GmbH, einer der erfolgreichsten Fachhandelskooperationen für Freizeit, Hobby und Spiel. Herr Schäfer stieg nach seiner Ausbildung zum Einzelhandelskaufmann und einem 4-jährigen Engagement im EDV-Zubehörhandel 1990 in die Spielwaren-Branche ein und sammelte bis heute 20 Jahre Erfahrung im In- und Ausland.

Jean Youn

Head of Toy Business, KAKAOKIDS

In den letzten drei Jahren war Dae-jin Youn (Jean) für eines der größten und bekanntesten südkoreanischen Unternehmen mit Namen Kakao tätig, das sich vor allem auf mobile Dienste spezialisiert und auch eine Suchmaschine betreibt. Dort betreute er Kakaokids, eine Plattform mit edukativen Inhalten für Kinder, und entwarf diverse Spielzeuge für verschiedene Altersgruppen. Mit großem Engagement ist Jean daneben auch Mitglied der südkoreanischen Kommission für nationale Standards in der Spielzeugbranche (NCS) und seit mehr als zehn Jahren in der Spielzeug- und Hobbybranche tätig.

Rainer Weiskirchen

TÜV Rheinland, Pressesprecher

Rainer Weiskirchen arbeitet seit 1993 als Pressesprecher des Nürnberger Prüf- und Zertifizierungsspezialisten am Standort Nürnberg. TÜV Rheinland prüft u.a. bei Spielwaren, ob Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards des Produktsicherheitsgesetzes erfüllt werden

Thomas Wodzicki

Freiberuflicher Spielpädagoge für verschiedene Institutionen im In- und Ausland

Thomas Wodzicki ist Spielpädagoge, Dozent für Erwachsenenbildung und arbeitet als Projektentwickler für die Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft der Spielmobile e.V. Die BAG Spielmobile e.V. ist ein Netzwerk der Spielmobilarbeit im deutschsprachigen Raum und der Träger des Freiwilligen Sozialen Jahres in der Kultur in Bayern.

Tracy Wood

Toybuzz, Managing director

Als zweifache Mutter hat sich Tracy Wood aus Großbritannien ihre persönlichen Spielzeug- Kauferfahrungen zu Nutze gemacht und den Blog Toybuzz gegründet, welcher sich mit der Bewertung von Spielzeug befasst und 2014 zum besten Spielzeug-Blog in Großbritannien gewählt wurde. Während ihrer nunmehr über 10 Jahre anhaltenden Tätigkeit konnte sie sich Wissen über Trends aneignen und mit Marken und Händlern kooperieren.

Dr. Harald Käb

Inhaber naracon Innovationsberatung

Seit über 25 Jahren berät der Chemiker Harald Käb Unternehmen und Institutionen im Bereich nachhaltige Chemie und Kunststoffe. Der Fokus liegt auf Markteinführungsstrategien für biobasierte Kunststoffe und daraus hergestellte Produkte.

to top